Zombie Heroes

Leave a comment
airbrush, Digital painting, fantasy, Photo manipulation

This zombie theme artwork was suppose to done by Halloween but i took a bit too long. This time around I am trying to integrate a few more characters into my artwork, learning the compositions, painting less details to get the idea across, and experimenting with a dim blue highlight.

this idea actually developed from my sketch book, and I decided to bring it to life. I will share some of the sketches as well. One lesson I learned during the making of this piece was to just keep carrying on. at certain stages of the art work I almost gave up and trashed the piece, but somehow I just kept working on it, kept adjusting it, shifting things around….just making it work. I am glad that this is digital, because traditional media is not as forgiving. it takes more planning, more visualizing and a tight sketch before starting and sometimes you make one mistake and you really have to trash the work. no joke!

I recommending flipping your work horizontally time and time again as it will immediately force you to look at the artwork at a different perspective. Also, allow yourself to make mistakes as sometimes you will never know where that would lead. for example I embraced 2 of my mistakes here and incorporated into the final piece.

  1. the wires initially started off as an unintentional stroke, but before deleting off the stroke I tried adding more and to my surprise it added to the story telling. so I kept it.
  2. the Moonlight glare was also unintentional. started with a missed dot on the top left. and that gave me an idea so I decided to add the glare on the top right.

so there you have it. for those following I apologise for the slow progress am going to be really busy with work and studies these few months, and I am trying to improve my skills by incorporating other skills and adding different elements,also try to understand that behind every work that I put up, sometimes I have to go through a few trashed version. ok enough talk, I am sharing the sketchbook ideas and the final work here. hope you enjoy it! till next time.zombie heroes

figure

military girl face thumbnail

Posted by

join my adventure in art! thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

