1/48 scale 0 Gundam

Leave a comment
Gundam, Mecha, Scale model

Just realised today that the forum that hosted my masterpiece is gone, and now that I have my own blog, I thought it would be much better to host it here instead.

Ok, some background on this model. This is initially an original 1/48 scale (approximately 37.5 cm tall) 30th anniversary version of the RX-78-2 , but I didn’t build it according to the original box, but instead according to another version of the gundam which is the 0 Gundam.

A size comparison of the model

rx_78_size

size comparison with a person

4408410385_7dd97f91d0

for those who want more info on the 0 Gundam you can read it up here:

http://gundam.wikia.com/wiki/GN-000_0_Gundam

The whole modification took me approximately 1 full year and 7 months to complete. I will try my best to document the process here. so be prepared for a long post.

STEP 1: Identify differences

gffmetalcompositerx78 124

this was tough, although both models look similar, but there were a lot of minor differences. believe it or not I had to modify EVERY single piece of the original kit.

STEP 2: Build the kit

this is quite simple, you just follow the instructions and built it accordingly.

STEP 3: modify : hollowing out the kit and adding hatches.

This is where all the hard work starts. the way I approached it was I started hollowing out the kit where I have identified where I wanted to add internal parts, then I start working on the hatches and openings.

SONY DSCSONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

STEP 4: modify : sculpt the external shape differences

once I am relatively ok with the hatches, I use bondite to sculpt the external shapes and sand it down to a smooth finish. the changes I did was to extend the hip joint, extend the feet and some body work.

SONY DSC SONY DSCP1010564P1010563

STEP 5: modify : work out the internal parts and embellishments

once the structure is done, I started fleshing out the internal structure and also added the extra details to make the model more realistic. this included filling out the under side of the internal panels, adding leg thrusters, a full cockpit, adding rivets and screws, plus LED lighting for the eyes as well as for the cockpit.

details on the underside of panels, the details no one will be able to see.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

internal parts and rocket thrusters on the soles of the feet and details on the modified GN drive backpack. also details that will be easily missed.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Cockpit and LED lights

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

STEP 6: prime model and error checking

once all the modification is done, I prime the whole model into one colour, in this case grey so that errors and rough surface can be easily identified. I usually use Mr Hobby’s grey primer for this purpose.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

STEP 7: paint, apply decal, seal and assembly.

once I have corrected all the mistakes, I start to paint the model, then I apply the decals and seal it when done. once all of that is done and left to dry for a bout 1-3 days, I start to assemble the final model.

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Finally, I present to you the full completed model :

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

Hatch open :

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

SONY DSC SONY DSC

some detailed shots

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

some action shots:

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

finally some photoshop pictures:

gundam 004 gundam gundam 003

Posted by

join my adventure in art! thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

