1/60 scale mechwarrior Innersphere Argus

2 comments
Mecha, mechwarrior, Photo manipulation, Scale model

Back in the 90s, mechwarrior was a really big thing for me. Pity its not around any more. (either went out of biz or the franchise is in a leagal tussle) A few years back I happen to stumble upon a circle of mechwarrior fans here: http://battlemechclub.blogspot.com/

These guys are dedicated fans who build resin kits from the mechwarrior universe. To date I have bought a few kits from Scott and Tim and the casts are real quality stuff.

The Argus is a heavy mech, same class as the Vultures I believe. and after much modification using Tim’s cast as a base, here is my version of the Argus:

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

As you can see, I chose a desert camo with yellow accents, and some weathering at the edges to show that the mech has been in some action. also added the shark mouth to give it a more military feel.

ok some close ups:

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

I inserted some rivets and used salt for the weathering effect. and finally the craziest part, is the following modification because I am a perfectionist:

SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC SONY DSC

a working cockpit with sliding hatch, a hood that opens up to reveal the engines, as well as an electrical side panel. this took the most time for me to construct as I had to build it from scratch, using parts from a 1/48 scale airplane model and a ship model.

also because of these modification, the scale of the mech is a bit skewed. the size of the mech is 1/60 but the cockpit actually fits a 1/35 pilot. so I think I may have shrunk the mech in half. LOL but it’s ok because this is actually part of a diorama which I have yet to finish building. and the scale will fit the overall theme later.

Finally some action pictures just for fun!!

argus argus 002

Thank you for following! hope you enjoyed it.

Posted by

join my adventure in art! thank you for stopping by!

2 thoughts on “1/60 scale mechwarrior Innersphere Argus”

  1. Samuel says:

    Um…the franchise is still very much alive, Adrian. There’s the new video game Mechwarrior Online, a free to play simulator/shooter, as well as the Classic Battletech miniatures game. Additionally, a small handful of us, including myself, Tim Fusco who owns the Battlemech Club blog you bought that Argus from, Scott Murphy of Scott’s Messy Desk blog, and a few others all work on 1/60 scale Battletech models like yours.

    In fact, my own blog, myomer-dreams.blogspot.com is dedicated to 1/60 scale battletech, and I’m currently about 90% done with the second draft of rules for gaming with these models.

    Like

    • iamabuaya says:

      Hey Sam, Good to hear from a fellow comrade! Oh I didn’t know there was a mechwarrior online! last I heard was there was a trailer from mechwarrior 5, then no news, then there was mechwarrior living legends which I was following during development which took so long I lost track. LOL. will check out your blog! good stuff!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

